Dentists! Run!

Good Evening Everyone!

Lets talk about dentists. Who hates them? Who loves them? I have a love/hate relationship with my dentist. When it comes to the dentist, I have really bad anxiety.

We’ll start with my high school years and the dentist. Since I don’t ever remember going to a dentist before that. From what I remember I had 9 cavities and a tooth that needed to be either pulled or have a root cannal done (pardon my spelling!). I remember choosing to do the pull rather than the root cannal. I don’t know if it was just a difficult tooth or whether the dentist didn’t know what they were doing, but it took them an hour and a half to pull it, it came out in 6 pieces, and I was given the legal amount of adult anesthetic. They told me unfortunately they weren’t legally allowed to give me anymore. This was a horrible experience for me.

On my 20th birthday I got the lower 2 wisdom teeth pulled out. They gave me the good stuff this time (lucky me). I sat in a lazy-boy chair with a blanket, because I was cold. The attendant came in crushed up w white pill and under my tongue it went. I don’t remember getting from that room to the chair or them pulling my teeth. I do however remember the stitches being removed.. OUCH!

A few days ago I went to get a cavity looked at, praying they’d be able to fill it and not pull it. Well they gave me the option to pull or root cannal. Again I went with the pull. By that time I was shaking uncontrollably. The attendant asked me if I was okay, and I squeaked yes. I had my left knee pulled up and bent, while my right leg was half in the air, gripping the tissue in my hand tightly as I could. Again I was asked if I was okay. I tried to say yes again, but due to the filling it came out not quiet like it should. after the freezing (about 10 minutes) and 30 seconds of pressure, the tooth was out, and I immediately felt relief! This was officially my favorite dentist.

Does anyone else get this kind of anxiety? I am aware of medication for it but I will not take it. That’s another story for another time!

 

xx

Leave a Reply

